Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

WINTER TREE - Topaz Islands Dreaming

(Code: 19810)
£ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart
WINTER TREE - Topaz Islands DreamingDixth album comprising of surprising covers and original music from The Winter Tree
Format: CD / Cat No: 845121029642 / Released: 26/05/2019

Track Listing: 1. 60 Years On (4:36) / 2. Mother Natureís Son (3:15) / 3. Looking For Atlantis (4:59) / 4. The Dawntreader (4:44) / 5. The Lake Isle of Innisfree (3:24) / 6. Thatís The Way (6:56) / 7. Matilda Mother (2:55) / 8. Isle of Islay (3:58) / 9. And the Tide Rushes In (3:46) / 10. Fires (3:41) / 11. Nod (2:44) / 12. Oh Sister (3:04) / 13. Dream Ships Set Sail (3:41) / 14. Topaz Islands: i. A World of Its Own (12:29) / ii. Paradox Island (3:13) / iii. Northern Waters (4:43) / iv. The Farthest Shore (6:07)

More information: THE WINTER TREE (formerly MAGUS) is a band formed by composer/multi-instrumentalist Andrew Laitres(a.k.a. Andrew Robinson) with vocalist/guitarist Mark Bond and his wife Deb Bond on keyboards.

Andrew Laitres: "This album was a true labor of love for me. I looked back and thought about some of the artists who were a big influence on me, some since childhood. The ten songs I chose were mostly deep cuts form the artists' catalogs. I didn't do the obvious ones."

"I also included four poems that I adapted for music. One if these, the W. B. Yeats classic, "The Lake Isle of Innisfree", was sung by Nad Sylvan. He also made some suggestions for the arrangement. Nad also sang on the album opener "60 Years On", the early Elton John song with an amazing orchestral arrangement by Paul Buckmaster. While recording this song I learned that Mr. Buckmaster had recently passed away."

"The album concludes with a four part, 26 minute ambient piece entitled "Topaz Islands Dreaming", inspired by the beautiful cover art by Quebecois artist Claude Martin."