Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

WARHORSE - The Recordings 1970-1972 (2 CD)

(Code: 21067)
£ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart
WARHORSE - The Recordings 1970-1972 (2 CD)Remastered editions of fine examples of Progressive Hard Rock of the era with bonus tracks.
Format: CD / Cat No: ECLEC22868 / Released: 10/05/2024

Track Listing: CD 1 - Warhorse (Remastered): 1. Vulture Blood / 2. No Chance / 3. Burning / 4. St. Louis / 5. Ritual / 6. Solitude / 7. Woman Of The Devil / Bonus tracks: 8. Ritual (live) / 9. Miss Jane (demo) / 10. Solitude (live) / 11. Woman Of The Devil (live) / 12. Burning (live)

CD2 - Red Sea (Remastered): 1. Red Sea / 2. Back In Time / 3. Confident But Wrong / 4. Feeling Better / 5. Sybilla / 6. Mouthpiece / 7. I (Who Have Nothing) / Bonus tracks: 8. Ritual (live) / 9. Bad Time (demo) / 10. She Was My Friend (demo) / 11. Gypsy Dancer (demo) / 12. House Of Dolls (demo) / 13. Standing Right Behind You (demo)

More information: Formed in early 1970 by former Deep Purple bassist Nick Simper, the band began life as backing band for singer Marsha Hunt. The group also initially featured Rick Wakeman, but he departed the band in April 1970 to join Strawbs. Signing a licensing contract with Vertigo Records, the band’s self-titled debut album was released in November 1970. The release was followed by touring, but the band’s line-up evolved further before the recording of their second album, ‘Red Sea’, issued in June 1972.

Soon after this, drummer Mac Poole departed to join Gong and was replaced by Barney James. Warhorse would continue until 1974, but vocalist Ashley Holt and Barney James would depart to join Rick Wakeman in his band The English Rock Ensemble.

The two albums recorded by Warhorse are fine examples of Progressive Hard Rock of the era. They are both featured in this collection, along with eleven further bonus tracks comprising demos and live recordings.