Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping


(Code: 17773)
£ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart
VON HERTZEN BROTHERS - New Day RisingSuperb follow-up from Finnish band to 2013’s Nine Lives!
Format: CD / Cat No: 4716670 / Released: 06/04/2015

Track Listing: 1. New Day Rising / 2. You Don’t Know My Name / 3. Trouble / 4. Black Rain / 5. Hold Me Up / 6. Love Burns / 7. Dreams / 8. Sunday Child / 9. The Destitute / 10. Hibernating Heart

More information: Throughout the ’90s, the brothers Mikko, Jonne and Kie Von Hertzen all played in different nooks and crannies of the Finnish music scene before coming together as family unit Von Hertzen Brothers in 2000. Maybe it wasn’t a serious gathering at first, but by the time their 2nd album Approach topped the Finnish chart with its epic and challenging progressive rock, it was obvious that this project was both different and special. The not-inconsiderable feat of crowning the Finnish album chart with challenging and intelligent music sung in English is something the band has managed three times since: Love Remains The Same (2008), Stars Aligned (2011) and Nine Lives (2013).

In the four years since the release of Stars Aligned, Von Hertzen Brothers has found an international audience the old-fashioned way – by writing memorable songs, playing the hell out of them in the studio and touring hard. They’ve appeared all over Europe and Scandinavia with Opeth, and supported acts like Foo Fighters, 30 Seconds To Mars and Neil Young closer to home. As for their own tours, these have regularly taken them to the UK, where their latest Nine Lives album reached Number 31 on the Rock Album Chart, being nominated in the ‘Best Rock Album Of The Year’ category by Classic Rock Magazine.

The three singles from the album – Flowers and Rust, Insomniac and Coming Home – all received generous airplay on rock-oriented stations in Finland and the UK. Indeed, first single Flowers And Rust won the ‘Anthem Of The Year’ prize at the 2013 Progressive Rock Awards in London.

New Day Rising is the follow-up to 2013’s Nine Lives. This time, the brothers -Mikko, Kie & Jonne Von Hertzen-entered the studio, The Farm in Vancouver, with Grammy-nominated Canadian producer Garth Richardson (Biffy Clyro, Rage Against The Machine, etc.), plus regular drummer Mikko Kaakkuriniemi and keyboard player Juha Kuoppala, and the result is their most ambitious release to date.

Mixed by Juno Awards winner Randy Staub (Metallica, Alice In Chains, etc.), New Day Rising blends the key elements of VHB’s music - atmosphere, intelligence, epic feel, progressive leanings, with an even greater focus on melody and hooks.