Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

TANGENT - Songs From The Hard Shoulder (Black 2LP + CD)

(Code: 20565)
£ 27.99
(-10.72%) £ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart
TANGENT - Songs From The Hard Shoulder (Black 2LP + CD)IMPORTANT INFORMATION:
This special price is part of a UK only vinyl and large item sale.
If you live outside of the UK, you can still buy this item at this special price, but we may be in touch with a request for additional shipping costs after your order is placed. This is due to the size, weight and special packaging requirements of these items. Any additional costs will only be known when your order is packed and your order cannot be sent until any these costs are paid. If there is sufficient shipping already paid to cover the size of the order then there will be no additional charge.
This does not apply to UK customers.

The Tangent release their 12th studio album
Format: Album / Cat No: 19658702911 / Released: 27/06/2022

Track Listing: LP 1 - Side A: 1. The Changes (17:06)

LP 1 - Side B: 1. The GPS Vultures (17:01)

LP 2 - Side A: 1. The Lady Tied To The Lamp Post (20:52)

LP 2 - Side B: 1. Wasted Soul (4:40) / Bonus track: 2. In The Dead Of Night / Tangential Aura / Reprise (16:11)

More information: This album sees The Tangent focusing almost entirely on their long format songs or "epics" with only one song being less than 16 minutes long. A very mature sounding record, the band have audibly focused on the compositional structure of this album which in the case of the three long pieces is also highly complex and "thought out".

From a luscious and uplifting song about loneliness in Covid lockdown, to a full on 17-minute long jazz/prog/canterbury fusion instrumental, to a darkly electronic story of a homeless woman with shades of Nine Inch Nails, Po90, Japan and Van Der Graaf lurking within. The album's final track is the 4 minute bouncy Motown-style track "Wasted Soul", where the band anticipate a wonderful day in the future when the pandemic is over forever.

Early editions and the Vinyl Edition will include the bonus track "In The Dead Of Night" which is of course a cover version of the classic song by UK.

The band line-up remains from the previous two albums as Andy Tillison (Vocal/Keyboards), Jonas Reingold (Bass), Luke Machin (Guitar/Vocals), Steve Roberts (Drums) and Theo Travis (Sax & Flute).

Gatefold 180g with LP booklet.