Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

SHERINIAN DEREK - Vortex (Limited CD Digipak)

(Code: 20621)
£ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart
SHERINIAN DEREK - Vortex (Limited CD Digipak)Sons Of Apollo keyboard player releases a brand new album with superb guest guitarists!
Format: CD / Cat No: 19658706902 / Released: 08/07/2022

Track Listing: 1. The Vortex / 2. Fire Horse / 3. Scorpion / 4. Seven Seas / 5. Key Lime Blues / 6. Die Kobra / 7. Nomad's Land / 8. Aurora Australis

More information: Sons Of Apollo keyboard player Derek Sherinian releases a brand new album, and returning alongside Sherinian is legendary drummer Simon Phillips, who once again co-wrote and co-produced the album, as well as Tony Franklin on bass.

The follow-up to 2020’s “The Phoenix,” “Vortex” includes eight tracks built on his signature chameleonic sound that blends rock with elements of funk, prog, and jazz, which he started writing even before “The Phoenix” was finished. “Vortex is a continuation of The Phoenix ,” Sherinian states. “However, I feel the composition is stronger on the new album, and I would describe it as a modern day 70s style fusion record, but with newer heavier tonality.”

Line-up: Derek Sherinian (organs, pianos, synths) / Simon Phillips (drums) / Tony Franklin (bass)

Guests include: Steve Stevens (guitar - tracks 1 & 4) / Nuno Bettencourt (guitar - track 2) / Joe Bonamassa (guitar - track 5) / Steve Lukather (guitar - track 5) / Michael Schenker (guitar - track 6) / Zakk Wylde (guitar - track 6) / Mike Stern (guitar - track 7) / Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal (guitar - track 8)