Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping


(Code: 20521)
£ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart
PORCUPINE TREE - In Absentia (CD)2021 re-issue of the breakthrough Porcupine Tree album from 2002
Format: CD / Cat No: TRANSM231CD / Released: 05/11/2021

Track Listing: Blackest Eyes / Trains / Lips Of Ashes / The Sound Of Muzak / Gravity Eyelids / Wedding Nails / Prodigal / ..3 / The Creator Has A Mastertape / Heartattack In A Layby / Strip The Soul / Collapse The Light Into Earth

More information: ‘In Absentia’ was the band’s seventh studio album, first released in 2002, and was the first in a run of 3 albums that for many represent the pinnacle of the band’s artistic achievements. It was something of a breakthrough for the band, selling three times more than previous releases.

Following on from 2000’s Lightbulb Sun it had a distinctly heavier tone, partly due to the addition of legendary drummer Gavin Harrison, and was also their first for major label Lava / Atlantic Records. ‘In Absentia’ features many of Porcupine Tree’s most loved songs including “Trains”, “The Sound of Muzak” and “Blackest Eyes”. While not a formal concept album, many of the songs have common themes related to serial killers, youthful innocence gone wrong, and observations of the modern world, setting a template for many of Steven Wilson’s future songs.