Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

POND - The Weather

(Code: 18918)
£ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart
POND - The Weather2017’s critically-acclaimed record from the Australian psychedelic-rock adventurers POND
Format: CD / Cat No: MA0094CD / Released: 05/05/2017

Track Listing: 30000 Megatons / Sweep Me Off My Feet / Paint Me Silver / Colder Than Ice / Edge Of The World Pt. 1 / A/B / Zen Automaton / All I Want For Xmas (is A Tascam 388) / Edge Of The World Pt. 2 / The Weather

More information: Pond often shares its members with fellow Australian psychedelic rock band Tame Impala. Jay Watson is a full member of both acts, while Pond band leader Nick Allbrook contributed to both bands from 2009 until 2013. Current Tame Impala members Kevin Parker, Cam Avery and Julien Barbagallo are all former members of Pond, with Parker continuing to work with the band as its record producer.

Pond’s unbridled creativity has seen them push the boundaries of psychedelic-rock and on their forthcoming album The Weather, the Perth based four-piece have created their most sharp and focused record to date. Produced by Kevin Parker, frontman Nicholas Allbrook says “It’s a concept album, not completely about Perth, but focusing on all of the weird contradictory things that make up a lot of the colonial cites around the world”. While these themes mean Pond retain their abstract outlook and propensity for experimentation The Weather features some of the bands most direct pop moments.