Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

MITCHELL JOHN - The Nostalgia Factory EP

(Code: 18275)
£ 5.99
In Stock
Add to cart
MITCHELL JOHN - The Nostalgia Factory EPEP of covers from John Mitchell (Lonely Robot, Arena, It Bites, Frost)
Format: CD / Cat No: WSCD9001 / Released: 26/02/2016

Track Listing: 1. The Nostalgia Factory / 2. It Won’t Be Easy / 3. Take Me Home / 4. C’est la Vie

More information: White Star Records was created by renowned musician & producer John Mitchell and music business manager Chris Hillman. The pair met in 2013 when Chris was using John’s own recording studio Outhouse Studios for a project. They found they had lots of ideas in common and became firm friends. Many discussions (and pub meals!) followed during which the collaboration of White Star Records was born. Their ethos is simply to release great music, that both John & Chris enthuse about, with no restrictions on style or genre.

To launch things John & Chris wanted to do something a bit different so John has taken time out from his successful Lonely Robot project to record a special EP – four tracks of brand new recordings of some great songs by other artists.

The title track of the EP, ‘The Nostalgia Factory’ was originally recorded by Steven Wilson on one of his early Porcupine Tree cassettes some years ago. John’s new recording is an uplifting powerful version and also features ex-Touchstone vocalist Kim Seviour on backing vocals. Following this is a wonderful version of Justin Hayward’s song ‘It Won’t Be Easy’ that John had always liked since he heard it as the theme of cult sci-fi tv show Star Cops. This track really showcases the strength of John’s vocals. Following this track is a driving version of Phil Collins ‘Take Me Home’ which also features Kim Seviour’s backing vocals. The EP is then rounded off by a version of ELP’s C’Est La Vie. At over 19 minutes of music the EP showcases John’s skills as a producer, vocalist and guitarist and shows how he can interpret other artist’s music and make them his own.

John is a member of bands including It Bites, Frost*, Arena and his own Lonely Robot project. He has also produced many artists including You Me At Six, Enter Shikari, Anavae, Architects, Lower Than Atlantis & many more.