Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

GABRIEL PETER - Scratch My Back (single CD)

(Code: 15732)
£ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart
GABRIEL PETER - Scratch My Back (single CD)Format: CD / Cat No: PGCD 12 / Released: 01/01/2010

Track Listing: Heroes / The Boy In The Bubble / Mirrorball / Flume / Listening Wind / The Power Of The Heart / My Body Is A Cage / The Book Of Love / I Think It's Going To Rain Today/ Apres Moi / Philadelphia / Street Spirit

More information: The 'Scratch My Back' album project is the first part of a series of song exchanges in which Peter Gabriel and other leading artists reinterpret each other’s songs. To help craft his recording of the album’s eclectic array of cult favourites and classic tracks, Gabriel enlisted former Durutti Column member John Metcalfe, composer, arranger and the expertise of producer Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’, Lou Reed’s ‘Berlin’) and engineer, mixer and producer Tchad Blake (Suzanne Vega, Sheryl Crow, Tom Waits). Gabriel describes this as a very personal record with twelve songs performed only with orchestral instruments and voice. He made the choice not to include guitar or drums. The album’s richly diverse sounds include the sparse romance of Lou Reed’s ‘The Power of the Heart’, the powerful musical journey of Elbow’s ‘Mirrorball’ and an epic arrangement of Arcade Fire’s ‘My Body Is A Cage’. Gabriel and his collaborators recorded the album at George Martin’s Air Lyndhurst Studios and the Real World Temple with further editing and mixing at his own Real World Studio in Wiltshire.