Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping


(Code: 18604)
£ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - I, Vigilante2016 re-release in a Digipak with a 4-page booklet of album from 2010
Format: CD / Cat No: KSCOPE443 / Released: 23/03/2018

Track Listing: 1. Troublemaker (8:33) / 2. We Forgotten Who We Are (10:47) / 3. Fantastic Justice (7:53) / 4. Bastonge Blues (12:01) / 5. Of A Lifetime (6:45) / 6. Burning Bridges

More information: U.K. progressive post-rock supergroup Crippled Black Phoenix is a musical collective that has featured nearly 30 members in its rotating roster. The constant driving force is multi- instrumentalist Justin Greaves (Electric Wizard, Iron Monkey Se Delan), who formed the band in 2004 with Mogwai bassist Dominic Aitchison. Creating what they describe as "endtime ballads” to signify both the slightly macabre nature of their songs and the unusual blend of styles as the final evolution in music. The band have made live shows a focus by performing in unusual venues across the world as well as using Victorian-era instruments in tandem with more modern instruments, often involving more than a dozen members onstage.

In 2006, Crippled Black Phoenix released their first album, 'A Love of Shared Disasters'. Originally released in 2010 on Invada Records, their fourth album 'I, Vigilante' is a record of uncompromising soundscapes that garnered the band and album widespread critical acclaim within the media worldwide. 2012 saw the more conceptual studio album, '(Mankind) The Crafty Ape' and their seventh and most recent album is 'White Light Generator' from 2014. The band continued with two European tours that reached a summit in April 2016 at London’s famed venue Electric Brixton.

On 'I, Vigilante', CBP create songs that feel both sky-crackingly epic and intimate at the same time. “We Forgotten Who We Are” is an 11 minute thundering storm which powers through sections of head-nodding chugging guitars to a sunrise of happy melody and back, “Fantastic Justice” is a staggering display of songwriting, with twists and turns that make the band sound like a mini orchestra – horns, strings, crashes and swoons with Greaves the dark conductor.