- the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

XTC - English Settlement

(Code: 18569)

Email to a Friend
In Stock
Add to cart
XTC - English SettlementA classic XTC album CD, newly mastered from the original half inch master tape sources
Format: CD / Cat No: 0633367786326 / Released: 22/07/2016

Track Listing: 1. Runaways / 2. Ball and Chain/ 3. Senses Working Overtime / 4. Jason and the Argonauts / 5. No Thugs in Our House / 6. Yacht Dance / 7. All of a Sudden (It's Too Late) / 8. Melt the Guns / 9. Leisure / 10. It's Nearly Africa / 11. Knuckle Down / 12. Fly on the Wall / 13. Down in the Cockpit / 14. English Roundabout / 15. Snowman

More information: A classic XTC album from 1982, newly mastered from the original half inch master tape sources.

English Settlement emerged some eighteen months after "Black Sea" - the band's longest period between albums to that point - in early 1982 as a defining statement of XTC's vision of British Pop. The pace of many of the songs is almost leisurely when compared to their earlier, more frenetic efforts, the scope of music - in lyrics, song-writing styles and recording is expansive; the sense of a band both comfortable and confident in what it is doing is palpable. Even the cover speaks to a sense of a timeless Englishness in its presentation of the image of Oxfordshire's Uffington White Horse.

While looking for the (at this point still "lost in the archives") multi-track tapes to enable Steven Wilson to undertake new stereo & 5.1 surround mixes of the album, the original half inch master tapes were discovered. These tapes were used as source masters from which engineer John Dent has prepared this new "original master edition" - making this the best this album has ever sounded on CD.