Err - the home of Progressive Rock
Search Your Cart   Continue Shopping

THE SEA WITHIN - The Sea Within (2 CD)

(Code: 19273)
£ 14.99
THE SEA WITHIN - The Sea Within (2 CD)Debut album from excellent new supergroup put together by Roine Stolt (Flower Kings)!
Format: CD / Cat No: 19075854582 / Released: 22/06/2018

Track Listing: CD 1: 1. Ashes of Dawn / 2. They Know my Name / 3. The Void / 4. An Eye For An Eye For an Eye / 5. Goodbye / 6. Sea Without / 7. Broken Cord / 8. The Hiding of Truth

CD 2 - Bonus Material: 1. The Roaring Silence / 2. Where are you Going? / 3. Time / 4. Denise

More information: The Sea Within is a project formed by Roine Stolt (Transatlantic, The Flower Kings), Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain of Salvation), Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic, The Tangent), Tom Brislin (Yes, Renaissance, Camel, Spiraling, Meat Loaf) & Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson, UK, Joe Satriani).

Initially the band went to Livingston Studios in London during September 2017 to begin the process of assembling all the material and recording it for the debut album. Roine Stolt says: "Most of the material you’ll hear are really band compositions. Of course, ideas were triggered by all of us. Sometimes Jonas would come up with a part, chord sequence or tune and then I or Tom would write melody & lyric and some new riff section and Marco enhancing with further musical metric twists and developments – then Daniel would add or rewrite some of the lyrics, change or add more melodies. Overall, the vast majority of the tracks have been worked on and developed by all of us in one way or another."

The entire recording situation took about six months, and the band also have some very special guests featured on the album. Stolt: "We have got Jordan Rudess from Dream Theater playing piano on one song. The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while ‘wind ace’ Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a different flavour to the music."